New Horizon Europe Project: INITIATE: Supporting European R&I Through Stakeholder Collaboration and Institutional Reform

Последна измена: August 25, 2023

The Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technologies is part of INITIATE. Set to start in the autumn of 2023 with a budget of €4.5M, INITIATE is coordinated from the University of Zagreb – Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and Naval Architecture. The consortium secured funding under the Horizon Europe programme for research and innovation of the European Commission, call HORIZON-WIDERA-2023-ACCESS-03-01: European Excellence Initiative.


The INITIATE project aims to empower higher education institutions to develop R&I through institution transformation. The project seeks to design an approach for this transformation that considers the institution’s needs, available resources, policy barriers, good practices from other initiatives, and potential collaboration opportunities with other institutions and local ecosystems. The process will involve iterative R&I Labs, supported by an online Knowledge Hub, to generate policy recommendations for helping stimulate R&I development and scientific excellence in Widening countries. The approach will be demonstrated in Croatia, Portugal and North Macedonia, resulting in a roadmap for long-term uptake of R&I in Widening countries with identified replication cases and an Alliance for the green energy transition to ensure the long-term sustainability of INITIATE results.

Project partners

The INITIATE consortium is composed of 14 partner organisations from 11 countries across Europe and Africa:

  • University of Zagreb – Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and Naval Architecture, Croatia (coordinator)
  • ESEIA, Austria
  • The Cyprus Institute, Cyprus
  • Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia
  • Kharkiv National University of Radio Electronics, Ukraine
  • Brain Information Technologies, Croatia
  • B1 Media, Croatia
  • Universite Mohammed Premier 1, Morocco
  • Institut za nuklearne nauke – Vinča Institut, Slovenia
  • s. Cyril and Methodius University in Skopje, North Macedonia
  • Javno preduzeće Elektroprivreda Bosne i Hercegovine d.d., Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • ISCTE ‐ Instituto Universitário de Lisboa, Portugal
  • Lviv Politechnic National University, Ukraine
  • Universitatea Transilvania din Brasov, Romania